OncoSynergy Appoints Oncology Drug Development Veteran Jean Pierre Bizzari, MD to Scientific Advisory Board

By May 9, 2016news

San Francisco, California – May 10, 2016 – OncoSynergy, Inc., a biopharma company developing a novel class of therapies for oncology, Resistance Mechanism Inhibitors (RMIs), announced today that it has appointed former Celgene and Sanofi-Aventis Executive, Jean Pierre Bizzari, MD, to its Scientific Advisory Board. Dr. Bizzari brings 33 years of industry experience with several major accomplishments including overseeing the approval of multiple leading oncology products such as ABRAXANE® ,TAXOTERE®,, REVLIMID® and ELOXATIN®.

Most recently, Dr. Bizzari was Group Head, Clinical Oncology Development at Celgene Corporation where he also was Chairman of the Hematology Oncology Development Committee. He currently serves on the Boards of Transgene SA, Halozyme Therapeutics, Inc., Celator Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Pieris Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Iteos Therapeutics SA, and Onxeo SA.  He is also a Board Member of the European Organization of Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) and Chairman of the New Drug Advisory Committee.

“We are honored to welcome Dr. Bizzari to our Scientific Board,” said Shawn Carbonell, MD, PhD, Co-Founder and CEO of OncoSynergy. “Jean-Pierre has been a major driver of advances in oncology, orchestrating efforts to bring new innovative medicines to cancer patients with grave unmet needs. His wealth of industry experience will be a major asset to OncoSynergy, most notably as we continue development of our first-in-class RMI candidate, OS2966, towards clinical trials in the next year.

“I look forward to working with the team at OncoSynergy to advance their novel RMI drug platforms towards the clinic,” said Dr. Bizzari. “I strongly believe their highly innovative approach targeting the tumor microenvironment to inhibit multiple cancer hallmarks with a single therapy represents a major advance towards providing meaningful patient outcomes in oncology.”

Dr. Bizzari will serve along side other leading clinicians and scientists on the OncoSynergy SAB including Mina J. Bissell, PhD, tumor microenvironment pioneer and the 2016 E.B. Wilson Medal Awardee; Rick Horwitz, PhD, discoverer of the integrin family of adhesion receptors and the founding Executive Director of the Allen Institute for Cell Science; and Pamela Munster, MD, Director of the Early Phase Clinical Trials Unit and Leader of the Developmental Therapeutics Program at UCSF.

%d bloggers like this: